MSE Graduates Record Number of Ph.D. Students

Published on Monday June 16, 2008

For the second time, the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at Drexel University has graduated 12 Ph.D. students in an academic year, tying the departmental record of the 2004-2005 academic year.  This brings the total number of Ph.D. graduates in the department to 162, 40% of whom have graduated in the last five years.

The department celebrated all of its Ph.D., M.S., and B.S. graduates on Saturday, June 14th at the annual departmental commencement lunch at the University Club. Graduating students and their families gathered to be honored by the department and to roast the faculty.

Congratulations to all 2008 graduates!

Doctor of Philosophy Degree

Massimiliano Binci

“A Novel Spectral Framework for Second-Order Homogenization Theories”

Advisor: Surya Kalidindi

Zarife Goknur Cambaz

“Formation of Carbide Derived Carbon Coatings of SiC”

Advisor: Yury Gogotsi

Matthew David Cathell

“Structurally Colored Biopolymer Thing Films for Detection of Dissolved Metal Ions in Aqueous Solution”

Advisor: Caroline Schauer

Hari Kishore Duvvuru

“Spectral Methods for Microstructure Modeling during Deformation Processes in Cubic Polycrystalline Metals”

Advisor: Surya Kalidindi

Donia Said Elkhamy

“Processing Mechanics of Alternate Twist Ply (ATP) Yarn Technology”

Advisors: Frank Ko and Christopher Li

Guzeliya Korneva

“Functionalization of Carbon Nanotubes”

Advisors: Reinhard Schweitzer-Stenner and Yury Gogotsi

Davide Mattia

“Templated Growth and Characterization of Carbon Nanotubes for Nanofluidic Applications”

Advisor: Yury Gogotsi

Brandon A. McWilliams

“Numerical Simulation of Electric Field Assisted Sintering”

Advisor: Antonios Zavaliangos

Dianne M. Phelan-Rothstein

“Protein Mediated Attachment Mechanisms Associated with Blastocyst Implantation”

Advisor: Michele Marcolongo

Dejan Stojakovic

“Microstructure Evolution in Deformed and Recrystallized Electrical Steel”

Advisors: Roger Doherty and Surya Kalidindi

Kishore Kumar Tenneti

“Nanoscale Hierarchical Phase Behavior of Liquid Crystalline Block Copolymers”

Advisor: Christopher Li

Wenhai Wang

“Towards an Improved Understanding of Strength and Anisotropy of Cold Compacted Powders”

Advisor: Antonios Zavaliangos

Aiguo Zhou

“Kinking Nonlinear Elastic Solids: Theory and Experiments”

Advisor: Michel Barsoum

Master of Science in Materials Engineering

Kristopher D. Behler

Arek Robert Blazejewski

John Chmiola

Rahul Sabu Joseph

Michael J. Laudenslager

Benjamin M. Legum

Huidong Li

Holly Alice McIlwee

Alexander J. Moseson

Adarsh Singh Sagar

Ryan Jay VanderMeulen

Venkata Lakshmi Saujanya Yachamaneni

Hakki Orhan Yegingil

Qing Zhu

Bachelor of Science in Materials Engineering

Adam C. Blackford

Ryan Buchs

Ryan J. Carmichael

Stefanie Rose Jasinski

Ronson James Lamond

Michael J. Laudenslager

Carl Lee

Holly Alice McIlwee

Adam Fredric Schvom

Ryan Jay VanderMeulen (Cum Laude)

Tagged as Alumni