MSE Students Win 2009 University Student Life Awards

Published on Thursday May 21, 2009

B.S./Ph.D. student Prineha Narang (advisor: Yury Gogotsi) received the Marilyn A. Burshtin Memorial Award.  This award is presented to a woman in the College of Engineering or College of Arts & Sciences who has participated extensively in student activities and maintained a GPA of 3.0 or above.  The award includes a $500 scholarship.

On behalf of Engineers Without Borders, Prineha accepted the Student Organization Outstanding Service Award.  This award is given to an organization that has made an outstanding contribution to Drexel and/or the Philadelphia community. This is the second year in a row an MSE student has been at the helm of an organization receiving this award.  B.S./M.S. students Sean Miller and John Lloyd (advisor:  Michel Barsoum), co-chairs of the Drexel Democrats last year, accepted the award on behalf of the organization in 2008.

B.S./M.S. students Charles (CJ) Spencer and Sean Miller (advisor: Michel Barsoum) received the Dean J. Peterson Ryder Award for Seniors presented to engineering seniors who excel in both scholarship and extracurricular activities.  The award provides the students with a scholarship.

Finally, Eric Eisele (advisor: Michel Barsoum) won the Student Leader of the Year Award for his work with Drexel Smart House, in addition to other projects.  The award is presented to a student who exhibits "outstanding leadership and vision."  This is the second year in a row that an MSE student has received this award as well.  Sean Miller was presented with the award last year for his role as co-chair of the Drexel Democrats. 

Tagged as Michel Barsoum Undergraduate Yury Gogotsi Awards Student Life Award