Doherty Selected to Receive Cyril Stanley Smith Award

Published on Friday January 8, 2010

Emeritus Professor Roger D. Doherty has been selected to receive the Cyril Stanley (C.S.) Smith Award by the International Committee of the International Conference on Recrystallization and Grain Growth to be held  July 4-9, 2010 in Sheffield, UK, the 4th conference in a series.  Roger will be presented with the award on Monday, July 5th, 2010.

The award recognizes Roger's contributions to the field of recrystallization and grain growth.  Previous awardees include Professor Mats Hillert, Professor Emeritus of Metallurgy of the Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm and Professor John Humphreys, Professor of Materials Science at the University of Manchester, UK.

Cyril Stanley Smith, for whom the award is named, was the lead metallurgist for the Manhattan Project that built the atomic bomb.  Following WWII he founded the Institute for the Study of Metals at the University of Chicago and was a pioneer of physical metallurgy and the analysis of microscture.

Tagged as Roger Doherty Awards