Drexel and Penn Awarded Joint NSF/DOE Grant to Promote PBS/NOVA Program

Published on Monday May 17, 2010

The Departments of Materials Science and Engineering at Drexel University and the University of Pennsylvania (Penn) are one of 15 coalitions across the country awarded a grant to promote the upcoming PBS/NOVA program Making Stuff, a joint program of NOVA, PBS, WGBH in Boston, and the Materials Research Society (MRS).

With $6,000 in funding provided by the National Science Foundation and the Department of Energy, the departments will form a Drexel/Penn Making Stuff Outreach Coalition to promote the public television program about the field of materials science and engineering and to educate the public about its relevance and applications.  A day-long "Materials Day" based around the program's four themes-"Stronger, Smaller, Smarter, and Cleaner"-will take place at Drexel prior to the program's airing, along with Science Cafés in and around Philadelphia with Drexel and Penn materials faculty, including a panel discussion and advanced screening at partner organization WHYY.  Materials faculty lectures will also be aired through MAGPI and PSTV 52.

In addition to Dr. Antonios Zavaliangos and Dr. Peter Davies, department heads in the Departments of Materials Science and Engineering at Drexel and Penn respectively, partners in the Drexel/Penn Making Stuff Outreach Coalition include Dorilona Rose, Operations Manager, also from Drexel's Department of Materials Science and Engineering; Dr. Andrew R. McGhie, Associate Director, Laboratory for Research on the Structure of Matter (LRSM), University of Pennsylvania; James McGonigle, Associate Director, Nano/Bio Interface Center, University of Pennsylvania; Holly Burnside, Director of Outreach and Development, Drexel Nanotechnology Institute, Drexel University; Dr. Selçuk Güçeri, Dean, College of Engineering, Drexel University; Jeffrey M. Bundy, Community Relations Manager, WHYY, Inc.; Heather Weiss Walsh, Manager of Educational Services, MAGPI; Ambra Hook, TV Host, PSTV 52, School District of Philadelphia; Sarah Mansuetti, Incoming 2010-2011 Chair, ASM International Liberty Bell Chapter; Professor Andrew Rappe, Co-Director, Pennergy; Larry Hough, Rhodia Inc.; Alan Ward, Laran Bronze Inc.; Schuyler Patton, Materials Science Teacher, Central High School; Mr. Michael A. Boyer, Engineering Academy and Nanotechnology Research Instructor, North Penn High School; Timothy R. Armstrong, Ph.D., VP, Research & Development, Carpenter Technology Corporation; Donald E. McKinney, Program Coordinator, Philadelphia Math + Science Coalition, Philadelphia Education Fund; E. Kendall Pye, Ph.D., Chief Scientific Officer, Lignol Innovations; and Roger H. French, Research Fellow, DuPont Co.

Tagged as Awards Antonios Zavaliangos National Science Foundation Materials Research Society WGBH Department of Energy PBS