Materials Students Well Represented Among Poster Winners at the Annual Drexel Engineering Graduate Research Symposium

Published on Friday May 13, 2011

MSE students won five out of seven poster awards at the 2011 Drexel Engineering Graduate Research Symposium (DEGRS) on May 10, 2011 organized by the Engineering Graduate Association (EGA).  The annual event is a forum in which graduate students present their research to the larger Drexel community.

Winners from MSE are (all Ph.D. students):

Stephanie H. Johnson (advisor: Jonathan Spanier)

  • Overall Best Poster - "Magneto-elastic Tuning of Ferroelectricity within a Megnetoelectric Nanowire"

Sean Garner (advisor: Antonios Zavaliangos)

  • Computation and Modeling -  "The Study of Microcrack Formation During the Powder Compaction Process"

Ioannis Neitzel (advisor: Yury Gogotsi)

  • Advanced Materials - "Nanodiamond Polymer Composites"

Carlos R. Perez (advisor: Yury Gogotsi)

  • Energy and Sustainability - "High Power Carbon Nanotube Supercapacitors with Ionic liquid Electrolyte Operating at Room Temperature"

Arianna Watters (advisor: Giuseppe Palmese)

  • Nanotechnology - "Nanostructured Polymeric Systems for Space Applications" 

Tagged as Yury Gogotsi Awards Antonios Zavaliangos Jonathan Spanier Giuseppe Palmese