Nanomaterials Group Members Receive Numerous Awards at 2013 MRS Spring Meeting

Published on Friday May 31, 2013

Members of the Nanomaterials Group had a strong showing at the 2013 MRS Spring Meeting & Exhibit held April 1-5, 2013 in San Francisco, California. Ph.D. candidate Carlos Perez, Ph.D. student Katie Van Aken, Post-Doctoral Research Associate Majid Beidaghi, and Distinguished University and Trustee Chair Professor Yury Gogosti, together with their co-authors from Carnegie Mellon University, Mohammad F. Islam and Youngseok Oh, won the prestigious Meeting Chairs’ Best Poster Award for their poster titled "High Rate Capacitive Performance in Single-Walled Carbon Nanotube Aerogels." The organizers of the “Beyond Graphene – 2D Atomic Layers from Layered Materials" symposium presented a Best Poster Award to Ph.D. candidate Michael Naguib Abdelmalak, Ph.D. Candidate Olha Mashtalir, M.S. Student Yohan Dall’Agnese, Yury Gogotsi and A. W. Grosvenor Professor Michel Barsoum for their poster “Two-Dimensional Titanium Carbide Based Material.” Additionally, Gogotsi and Ph.D. candidate Jake McDonough, both members of the MRS Academic Affairs Committee, were interviewed on MRS TV about the role of MRS student chapters, and, rounding out the recognition, the Drexel MRS student chapter won the MRS Student Chapter T-Shirt contest.

Tagged as MRS Awards Graduate Yury Gogotsi