Graduating Materials Students Honored at Commencement 2013 Dinner

Published on Monday June 17, 2013

The Department of Materials Science and Engineering honored graduating students and 2012-2013 departmental award winners at the department’s annual commencement dinner, held Thursday, June 13th at 6 PM in the University Club.

Department of Materials Science and Engineering Faculty and Staff Awards

Outstanding Research Award
Michel Barsoum

Outstanding Teaching Award
Caroline Schauer

Outstanding Service Award
Steve May

Outstanding Staff Award
Keiko Nakazawa

Outstanding Graduate Student Award
Marjorie Austero Kiechel (advisor:  Caroline Schauer)

Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award
Nasreen Khan (advisor:  Christopher Li)


Doctor of Philosophy Degrees

Valerie Regina Binetti
“Development and Characterization of a Chemically Crosslinked Polyvinyl Alcohol/Polyethylene Glycol Hydrogel for Injectable Nucleus Pulposus Replacement”
Supervising Professors: Michele Marcolongo and Anthony Lowman
Current position:  Postdoctoral Researcher; Rowan University; Glassboro, NJ

Xi Chen
“Design, Synthesize and Characterize Hieracrhically Ordered Nanofibers (NFSKs) for Biomimetic Mineralization”
Supervising Professor: Christopher Y. Li
Current position:  Postdoctoral Researcher; Johnson & Johnson; Skillman, NJ
Amalie Elizabeth Donius
“Structure-Property-Processing Correlations in Chitosan-based Porous Hybrid Materials”
Supervising Professors: Antonios Zavaliangos and Ulrike G.K. Wegst
Current position:  Postdoctoral Researcher; Oral Biology, School of Dental Medicine, University of Pittsburgh; Pittsburgh, PA

Stephanie Howell Johnson
“Magnetoelectricity in Individual Multi-component Nanowires”
Supervising Professor: Jonathan Spanier
Current position:  Applications Scientist-Geotech; Croda (Specialty Chemicals); DE
Marjorie Austero Kiechel
“Post-processing of Electrospun Chitosan Fibers”
Supervising Professor: Caroline L. Schauer
Current position:  Visiting Researcher; Natural Polymers and Photonics Laboratory, Drexel University; Philadelphia, PA
Nina Jeong Lane
“Lattice Dynamical Studies of Select MAX Phases”
Supervising Professors: Michel Barsoum and James Rondinelli
Current position:  Rotation Engineer; Intel Corporation; Mountain View, CA

Oren David Leaffer
“Photoluminescnece and Resonance Raman Spectroscopy of MOCVD Grown GaAs/AlGaAs Core-Shell Nanowires”
Supervising Professor:  Jonathan Spanier

Ioannis Neitzel
“Nanodiamond-Polymer Composites”
Supervising Professor: Yury Gogotsi
Current position:  Development Engineer; Hella; Lippstadt, Germany
Carlos Perez
“High Power Electric Double-Layer Capacitors based on Room-Temperature Ionic Liquids and Nanostructured Carbons”
Supervising Professor:  Yury Gogotsi
Current position:  Postdoctoral Fellow; Bonnell Group, University of Pennsylvania; Philadelphia, PA

Riju Mohan Singhal
“Carbon Nanotube Based Devices for Intracellular Analysis”
Supervising Professor: Yury Gogotsi
Current position:  Applications Engineer; CVD Equipment Corporation; Central Islip, NY

Master of Science in Materials Science and Engineering


  • Lucas Amspacher (BS/MS)
  • Brian Beatty (BS/MS)
  • Pietro Bonato
  • Guannan Chen
  • Robert Coward (BS/MS)
  • Robert Devlin
  • Matthew Hartshorne
  • Nasreen Khan (BS/MS)
  • Andrew Lang (BS/MS)
  • Hang Kuen Lau
  • Sarah Lightfoot Vidal (BS/MS)
  • Travis Longenbach (BS/MS)
  • Denis Madende
  • Ian McDonald (BS/MS)
  • Amanda Pentecost (BS/MS)
  • Thomas Richards
  • Nathan Wald (BS/MS)
  • Hanqi Wu

Bachelor of Science in Materials Science and Engineering


  • Lucas Amspacher (Summa Cum Laude)
  • Jonathan Andrus
  • Brian Beatty (Cum Laude)
  • Alicia Busenius-Kriete
  • Robert Coward
  • Utku Guclu
  • Nasreen Khan (Cum Laude)
  • Andrew Lang
  • Sarah Lightfoot Vidal
  • Travis Longenbach (Cum Laude)
  • Yen-Ming Lu
  • Ian McDonald
  • Ashley Moretti
  • Amanda Pentecost (Magna Cum Laude)
  • Elizabeth Poyss
  • Brittany Preston
  • Bryant Richardson
  • Ebony Thompson
  • Elizabeth Toby
  • Nathan Wald (Summa Cum Laude)

Tagged as Commencement Michel Barsoum Caroline Schauer steven Steven May Keiko Nakazawa Awards Graduate