Zavaliangos Named A. W. Grosvenor Professor

Published on Thursday March 20, 2014

Dr. Antonios Zavaliangos has been named A.W. Grosvenor Professor, as of January 2014.

Zavaliangos is being recognized for his exceptional service to the department, in particular for his role as Department Head for the previous six years.  Much like the named professorship’s namesake, A. W. “Doc” Grosvenor, who set the standard for dedicated faculty to maintain the high quality of education and research for which the department is well known, Zavaliangos pushed the department to new heights and achievements while fostering an atmosphere where innovation, leadership, and camaraderie are valued among faculty, staff, and students.

Zavaliangos was promoted to professor in 2004 and appointed to department head in 2007.  He received his Ph.D. from MIT and his been with the department since 1992.  Zavaliangos was honored for his service as department head at two events in the fall of 2013.

Founder of Drexel’s Department of Materials Science and Engineering (originally Department of Metallurgical Engineering), "Doc" began his career at Drexel in the Mechanical Engineering Department in 1930.  He assumed leadership of the Metallurgical Engineering Department at its inception in 1947.  The first class of metallurgical engineers, totaling three, graduated in 1950.  At that time, the department consisted of three faculty members with "Doc's" wife doing the sample preparation.  "Doc" retired in 1965 and in 1977 was awarded an Honorary Degree from Drexel University. 

The Department's first Grosvenor Professor was Professor Harry Rogers.  He held the title until his retirement in December 1991, when Professor Alan Lawley was appointed as such.  Following Lawley's retirement, Professor Roger Doherty became Grosvenor Professor in 2004.  Whereas previously the position was held until retirement, the appointment was altered to last for a period of five years, after which it is reevaluated.  Zavaliangos succeeds Professor Michel Barsoum, who has held the position since 2009. 

Tagged as Antonios Zavaliangos