Pelin Kansu

B.S./M.S. Student

Why did you decide to come to the U.S. to pursue your degree and, specifically, how did you decide to come to Philly, Drexel, and materials?

I attended an American high school in Turkey, therefore I was aware of US colleges and universities. During my senior year in high school, representatives from Drexel's College of Engineering came to my school to meet students and talk about Drexel and College of Engineering programs. That's when I decided to apply to Drexel University.

Drexel has a very innovative engineering college, and Philadelphia is a great city. It wasn't hard to choose which university or college to attend.

I was initially admitted into the Chemical and Biological Engineering program; however, after I attended the two-day Materials course, I decided to study Materials Science and Engineering.

What are your favorite things about Philly?

I enjoy walking around in Center City or Old City. The ice-cream shop, Franklin Fountain, in Old City is my favorite. Other than that, I enjoy going to the movies or to see plays. Also I am a huge fan of Philly Restaurant Week.

What is your typical schedule like during the week and weekend?

During the week I am very busy. My classes start at 9am, when I have breaks I go to my lab to work on my research project. I usually have student organization meetings in the evening for Society of Women Engineers and Delta Zeta. During the weekend, I relax and do homework on Saturday and I have student organization meetings on Sunday evenings as well.

What do you find are the biggest differences between your home country and the U.S.?

Definitely the food is the biggest difference. Other than that, there isn't much of a difference in my everyday life.

What are your plans after graduation?

I want to go to grad school to work towards my Ph.D. Later, I want to work in either the biomaterials, pharmaceuticals, or cosmetics field. This is pretty much it for now.

How do you feel your Drexel materials degree will prepare you for your post-graduation plans?

There are a lot of research opportunities in the materials department, and I have worked with former faculty member Dr. Ulrike Wegst and Dr. Yury Gogotsi and now work in Dr. Hao Cheng's lab. The research experience I am gaining right now is definitely preparing me for grad school, and I am also having more hands-on experience in my field.

From Turkey

Year of Graduation: 2014


Advised by